My Dear Friend

One of my best friends turned 50 this past month and this is what I wrote and read at her surprise party in Georgia:

My Dear Friend,

We are gathered here today to celebrate the birth of you-a tremendous person-nearly 50 years ago.

Donna welcomed me into her home in the mountains of Durango, Colorado just over 20 years ago.  She had met me exactly two times. Terry and I showed up on her doorstep jobless, with a truck-full of our meager belongings, and our insanely insane Rottweiler.  She didn’t blink an eye.  She opened the door to their home and asked, “How can we help?”

Those of us who have been fortunate enough to know Donna for a significant amount of time know this is just who she is.  She wears her heart on her sleeve.  There’s no pretending.  No falseness.  Like it or not, she will always tell you the truth.

Donna Breault is a (an):

  • Steadfast patriot
  • Intense athlete
  • Passionate animal lover
  • Faithful sister
  • Attentive aunte
  • Courageous daughter
  • Dedicated and devoted wife
  • Unfailingly loyal friend
  • Genuine human being
  • Unfortunately, Donna is also a lifelong Cowboys fan
  • And a don’t-piss-me-off-because-I’m-a-Jersey-Girl

There is no doubt in my mind, or anyone else sitting here in this very room, that the world is a much better place because you are in it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

